NEW LAWS EFFECTIVE AUGUST 27, 2019
Licensure by Universal Recognition
On August 27, 2019 the Arizona State Board of Cosmetology will begin accepting applications for licensure by universal recognition.
The universal recognition law allows Arizona residents to use an out-of-state professional or occupational license to qualify for an Arizona license to work. To qualify, an applicant must:
- Prove residency in Arizona.
- Be currently licensed or certified for at least one year in another U.S. state in the discipline applied for and at the same level of practice as recognized in Arizona.
- Be in good standing in all states where currently or previously licensed or certified.
- Prove Citizenship or Alien status for State public benefits
- Pay all applicable fees to the "Arizona State Board of Cosmetology" - Fee amount: $140.00
Substantive Policy Statement - Arizona Universal Licensing Recognition
Arizona Universal Licensing Recognition Application
Licensure by Reciprocity
A.R.S. § 32-513
Notwithstanding section 32-510, 32-511, 32-512, and 32-512.01, a person is entitled to receive a cosmetologist, aesthetician, nail technician or hairstylist license if the person does all of the following:
- Submits to the board an application for a cosmetologist, aesthetician, nail technician or hairstylist license on a form supplied by the board.
- Submits to the board satisfactory evidence that the person is licensed in another state or country.
- Takes and completes a class relating to infection protection and law review that is provided by the board or its designee. The board shall determine that amount of the fee for the class. The applicant shall pay the fees directly to the board or its designee.
- Pays the prescribed reciprocity license fees.
ARIZONA RECIPROCITY APPLICATION
Non-Applicability Exemption of Individuals who Blow Dry Hair
Senate Bill 1401, A.R.S. 32-506 (14) provides as follows:
"Persons who dry, style, arrange, dress, curls, hot iron or shampoo and condition hair if the service does not include applying reactive chemicals to permanently straighten, curl or alter the structure of the hair and if the person takes and completes a class relating to sanitation, infection protection and law review that is provided by the Board or its designee. This paragraph does not apply if a person is engaging in the practice of Aesthetics or Cosmetology. A person who exempt pursuant to this paragraph shall post a sign in a conspicuous location in the perosn's place of business notifying the public the person's services are not reulated by the Board."
In order to qualify for the exemption individuals are required to do the following:
- Take and complete a class relating to sanitation, infection protection and law review that is provided by the Board or its designee pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-506 (14).
- Individuals are required to post out services in a conspicuous location in the person's place of business notifying the public that the person's services are not regulated by the Board. A.R.S. § 32-506 (14) and A.A.C. R4-10-111 (F).
Substantive Policy Statement - Non Applicability Exemption of Individuals who Blow Dry Hair
Infection Protection Law class - General Interest 10.2019
Arizona apprenticeship program
Arizona now offers a "Cosmetology Apprenticeship" program. The program is hosted through Arizona Department of Economic Security (DES).
Occupation terms: One and half (1.5) years with 3000 hours - minimum 250 to 288 hours of related instruction. Arizona State Board of Cosmetology examination is required to be come licensed.
- Public Notice of Board & Committee meetings are posted at:
- AZBOC - Agenda & Committee meetings
- Posted at our Phoenix Office
- AZ Department of Administration
Arizona State Board of Cosmetology is in compliance with A.R.S.§ 32-4404 (c);The public may contact the Board to request any licensee's public records, including dismissed complaints, nondisciplinary actions, and board orders
SCAM ALERT: Board of Cosmetology Urges Licensees to Beware of Fake Calls and Emails
The Board of Cosmetology is aware of individuals targeting licensees by phone and email regarding payment of money for license related fines and penalties. These individuals are posing as Board Members and are very convincing. Please be aware that a Board Member will never contact a licensee or applicant. If you have any question about a fee or fine either come to the Board office in person or contact Board of Cosmetology Compliance Office, at (480) 889-2954 or (480) 784-4961. This matter has been referred to the Arizona Attorney General's Office for criminal investigation and prosecution. Please contact the office if you have any information regarding this scam.
AZ Attorney General's Online Complaint portal: Any victim can file a complaint @ https://gateway-sis.azag.gov/PublicComplaint/begin.aspx
Arizona Ombudsman - Citizens' Aide:
In the event that you have made a reasonable effort to resolve any problem related with the Arizona Board of Cosmetology and have not been successful, you may contact the Arizona Ombudsman - Citizens' Aide.
The Arizona Ombudsman - Citizens' Aide helps citizens to resolve ongoing issue with State of Arizona agencies, departments, boards and commissions.
Arizona Ombudsman - Citizens' Aide
7878 N. 16th Street, Suite 235
Phoenix, AZ 85020
Telephone: 602-277-7292, Monday - Friday, 8 a.m.. - 5 p.m.., excluding State Holidays and weekends*
Toll-free: 1-800-872-2879 (outside Phoenix metropolitan area)
"THE OMBUDSMAN-CITIZENS AIDE HELPS CITIZENS TO RESOLVE ONGOING ISSUES WITH STATE AGENCIES"'
To reach the Ombudsman-Citizen's Aide Office: click below
E-mail: [email protected]
House Bill 2186
Petition for a Rule or Review of an Agency Practice
Pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1033, any person may file a petition with the Governor's Regulatory Review Council for review of a final rule based on the person's belief that the final rule does not meet the requirements of A.R.S. § 41-1030. A person may also petition the Governor's Regulatory Review Council to request review of an existing agency practice, substantive policy statement, final rule or regulatory requirement that is not specifically authorized by statute pursuant to title 32 based on the person's belief that the existing agency practice, substantive policy statement, final rule or regulatory licensing requirement is unduly burdensome or is not demonstrated to specifically fulfill a public health, safety or welfare concern.
*If the holiday falls on a Saturday, then it is observed on Friday. If the holiday falls on Sunday, then it is observed on Monday.