Boards address location:
1740 W Adams Suite #4400
Phoenix AZ 85007
To all individuals who are submitting an application online, you must have all of the required documents ready to upload. If you are timeout from the link, do not go back to the payment portal and pay twice. Call the office at the number above for further instructions.
Also once you get confirmation of payment, an application link is at the bottom of your confirmation page-you can also check your spam folder in the email you provided to see if you received the application link.
If you are not sure if you are renewing a salon or individual license please call the office for clarification do not submit any type of applications. If you need to renew your individual/salon license please go to the link below do not mail in, the office will be returning any mailed received and instruct you to please renew online.
Individual & Establishment Renewals
(you must create an account, if you do not have an account created already-see link below)
If you need to reactivate your personal or salon license please call the main office number for instructions-to make a payment on a civil penalty you may mail it in or call the office.
Not all phones are compatible please use a desktop/laptop computer to renew
NEW EFFECTIVE: July 3, 2015
*How to renew a license on time:
"On or 60 days before" to the renewal date:
For online applications please select Licensing Information in the menu bar-go to licensing documents and you will find the link. (All applications must be submitted online-please do not mail)
- If your online payment is successful and you do not receive your license within 10-15 business days, please contact the office.
- Hairstylist personal renewal- is available online now
- Having trouble renewaling online - please contact the office.
- PAST YOUR RENEWAL DATE? DELINQUENT fees will not be waived, you have 60 days before your renewal date to renew. If your license is in an "INACTIVE" status over 2 years, you will have to call the office for procedures to reactivate.
Due to the pandemic the classes for the Infection Protection/Law classes for September and October 2021, have been canceled. For individuals who are required to attend the Infection Protection/Law class (reactivation and Board order only) you may complete it by reading the Laws and Rules section's found under Licensing Information-once you have reviewed both sections please print the first page of each section-write the following sentence "I have read and understood the Arizona Laws and Rules that I have reviewed"-sign your name and date it. You can either scan it and email it to [email protected] or mail it to the address above, please make sure to fill out the class registration form and pay the $25.00 class fee.
PURSUANT TO SECTION 32-4302, ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES, A PERSON SHALL BE GRANTED AN OCCUPATIONAL OR PROFESSIONAL LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE IF THE PERSON HAS BEEN LICENSED OR CERTIFIED IN ANOTHER STATE FOR AT LEAST TWELVE MONTHS, THE LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE IS IN THE SAME DISCIPLINE AND AT THE SAME PRACTICE LEVEL AS THE LICENSE OR CERIFICATE FOR WHICH THE PERSON IS APPLYING IN THIS STATE AND THE PERSON MEETS OTHER CONDITIONS PRESCRIBED BY SECTION 32-4302, ARIZONA REVISED STATUTUES.
ALERT! COVID-19 BOARDS UPDATE:
Due to the COVID-19, Executive Order 2020-17 and the Arizona State Board of Cosmetology Board Members have approved to waive all renewal fees between July 16, 2020 through October 4, 2020.
Due to the COVID-19, at the May 15, 2020, Board meeting, the Board Members voted to waive the June 30, 2020 - School renewal fees. The Schools will still be required to submit the renewal packet.
Due to the COVID-19, at the April 17, 2020, Board meeting, the Board Members voted to waive the licensing fees for the following:
- Examination: first license application fee only $70.00 (must submit examination application with supporting documents.)
- Reciprocity application fee only $140.00 (must submit reciprocity application with supporting documents and money order for the Infection Protection/Law class fee of $25.00).
- Universal Recognition application fee
- Salon: first license application fee (must submit salon application with supporting documents)
- Personal renewal fee - Only Licenses from April 4, 2020 through July 15, 2020
- Salon renewal fee - Only Licenses from April 4, 2020 through July 15, 2020
This will only be in effect until the Executive Order 2020-17 has been repealed by the Governor. There is no need to contact the Board during this process your license will be mailed out to you.
Links - Arizona Department of Health Services
- Arizona Department of Health Services - Highlighted Infection Diseases for Arizona: https://www.azdhs.gov/preparedness/epidemiology-disease-control/infectious-disease-epidemiology/index.php?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery#novel-coronavirus-home
- The Center of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommendations: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/index.html
Clarification for essential services:
Clairfication from the Governor's Office:
Press Release - April 3, 2020 "Governor's Office Provides Additional Guidance on Essential Services" (click here to read)
Clip from the Press Release - April 2, 2020
- On March 23, 2020, Governor Ducey issued an Executive Order defining essential services. On March 30, 2020, as these services cannot comply with the guidelines required in paragraph 11 of Executive Order 2020-18, directing Arizonans to Stay Home, Stay Healthy, and Stay Connected.
- Cosmetology, Hairstyling, Nail Salons and Aesthetic Salons
- Tanning salons
- Tattoo parlors
- Massage palors
There are economic opportunities available for small businesses:
- Federal Relief: The U.S. Department of the Treasury posted important updates on accessing federal relief, which will be critically important to Arizona families and small businesses. Starting April 3, 2020, small businesses and sole proprietorships can apply for low interest loans for payroll, rent, utilities, and other expenses. A portion of these loans are forgivable (program details and the application here)
- Arizona Specific Worker and Small Business Resources: the Arizona Commerce Authority has compiled resources for small businesses and workers facing employment loss on this page . (www.azcommerces.com)
- Arizona Commerce Authority Webinar Series: The first webinar "Ensuring Business Continuity" was held April 1, 2020. Recsources are available and more webinars are forthcoming on this page. (www.azcommerces.com)
LIST OF EXECUTIVE ORDER
UPDATE: Effective March 25, 2021, Business Guidelines as per Executive Order 2021-06 (see below under "List of Executive Orders")
Business Guidelines Transition from Requirements to Recommendations Link to read
UPDATE: Effective March 5, 2021, Lifting Occupancy Limits Implemented due to COVID-19 as per Executive Order 2021-05 (see below under "List of Executive Orders")
Lifting Occupany Limits Implemented Due to COVID-19 Link to read
UPDATE: Effective May 8, 2020, Salons are allowed to re-open as per Executive Order 2020- 34 (see below under "List of Executive Orders")
Guidance for Reopening - Barbers & Cosmetologists Link to read
This order includes all license types that fall under Title 32 of the Arizona Revised Status:
Cosmetology, Hairstyling, Aeshetician, Nail Technology Salons & ALL Personal Licensees
Other COVID-19 & Infection Control Classes listed under the Executive Order
- NEW UPDATE: Executive Order 2020-34 "Building on COVID-19 Successes"
- "Building on COVID-19 Successes" Link to read full Executive Order
- Effective Friday, May 8, 2020, Barbers & Cosmetologist defined and licensed by Title 32 of the Arizona Revised Statutes may resume operations provided they establish and implement protocols and best practices for businessess to address COVID-19,
- Including using face coverages for employees and customers,
- operating by appointment only,
- Following protocols at directed by the Centers of Disease Control and Provention, the United State Department of Labor Division of Occupational Safety and the Arizona Department of Health Services,
- All other provisions of Executive Order 2020-33 shall remain in effect.
- Governor's Office - "Guidance for Re-opening for Barbers & Cosmetologists" Link to read
- Other recommendations for re-open:
- Executive Order 2020-33 "Returning Stronger Amending the Stay Home, Stay Heathly, Stay Connected"
- "Returning Stronger Amending the Stay Home, Stay Heathly, Stay Connected" Link to read full Executive Order
- Executive Order has been extended until May 15,2020
- Salons are to remain closed until Executive Order has been updated
- Executive Order 2020-18 "Stay Home, Stay Healthy, Stay Connected"
- Stay Home, Stay Healthy, Stay Connected - Link to read full Executive Order
- Executive Order 2020-17 "Continuty of Work"
- Continuty of Work - Link to read full Executive Order
- Executive Order 2020-12 "PROHIBITING THE CLOSURE OF ESSENTIAL SERVICES"
- Prohibiting the Closure of Essential Services - Link to read full Executive Order
- Cosmetology, Hairstyling, Nail Technology and Aesethic Schools refer to "Educational Institutions"
- Cosmetology, Hairstyling, Nail Technology and Aesethic Salons refer to "Professional and Personal Services"
- All salons are classified under "Personal Hygiene Services"
- Follow all CDC requirements to prevent spread of the COVID-1
- Prohibiting the Closure of Essential Services - Link to read full Executive Order
- BOARD EVENTS-October 2021, Infection Protection/Law classes have been CANCELED.
- October 4th & 18th
- BOARD EVENTS-September 2021, Infection Protection/Law classes have been CANCELED.
- September 13th & 27th
- BOARD EVENTS-August 2021, Infection Protection/Law classes have been CANCELED.
- August 8th, 16th & 30th
- BOARD EVENTS-July 2021, Infection Protection/Law classes have been CANCELED.
- July 12th & 26th
- BOARD EVENTS-June 2021, Infection Protection/Law classes have been CANCELED.
- June 7th & 21st
- BOARD EVENTS-May 2021, Infection Protection/Law classes have been CANCELED.
- May 3 & 17th
- BOARD EVENTS-April 2021, Infection Protection/Law classes have been CANCELED.
- April 5th & 19th
- BOARD EVENTS-March 2021, Infection Protection/Law classes have been CANCELED.
- March 8 & 22th
- BOARD EVENTS-February 2021, Infection Protection/Law classes have been CANCELED.
- February 8 & 22th
- BOARD EVENTS-January 2021, Infection Protection/Law classes have been CANCELED.
- January 11 & 25th
- SCHOOLS: Each of the Arizona Licensed Schools has been working with the Board on what measures they are using to help accommodate their students and clients. If you have any questions please contact the school on what action they are taking during this time.
- Practical Examination: Professional Credential Services, Inc (PCS)
- Written Examination: Prometric
- Prometric resumed written examinations on June 5, 2020. Do not delay taking the written examination.
- PROVISIONAL LICENSES - EXECUTIVE ORDER 2020-17 "Continuity of Work":
- Provisional Licenses have been issued effective Wednesday, May 13, 2020
- This is only a temporary license issued for up to 6 months for candidates waiting to take the written and practical examinations. The expiration date is listed on the license. It will not be renewed.
- If the candidate has failed any portion of the examination, this license will expire and the candidate will be notified by email;
- If the candidate has passed both portions of the examination, a regular license will be issued.
- Must be posted at all times within the Salon.
During this time the Board would refer "ALL" licensees to use the following methods to renew licenses, and/or submit an application:
- Renew online
- All applications can be submitted online